Week Eight – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

I just completed the quiz for week eight. It took me two attempts to get 100% right, as I scored 80% on my first attempt.

The first question I got wrong was about the fight near Jack’s Hotel. I disagree with the first suggestion in the feedback as I don’t think ‘next to’ is more accurate than ‘near’. I feel like it might be a more ‘descriptive’ way of wording it, but I don’t think it is necessarily more correct. I do however understand that the word ‘brawl’ is an exaggeration of fight, so that does make sense to me and would indeed, make option A more correct.

The second question I got wrong relates to the question about the women from Japan, where the ‘of’ was considered redundant. I just personally prefer using that extra word in that instance as it sounds better to me that way.

In some ways I can’t help but feel a little frustrated by these quizzes. It seems so nitty-gritty all the time, when it really is a matter of style. I guess that some people would argue that the details are what matters, but in I do find it tiresome in some cases.

I imagine I am not alone in my thoughts.

Reference

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, Routledge, London, England.

Week Eight – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

2 thoughts on “Week Eight – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

  1. Kate Ames says:

    Heather, I agree it’s often a matter of style. I have arguments with the text as well. That being said, one of the main reasons for red pen in a news story is redundancy. When you get to narrative writing, you have much more flexibility to apply your own style.

    As for next to and near. As an example: The dog sat next to its owner vs The dog sat near its owner.

    Next to builds a clear picture for the reader as to the position of the dog. The use of near is ambiguous in this regard so next to would be more ‘accurate’ if that makes sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

