Week Six – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

I think I did well this week in my first attempts at the quizzes. I have always really struggled with the finer points of grammar, so to put it to the test was an interesting challenge for me. For both quizzes I got 80% on my first attempts, eventually making it to that 100% goal!

Quiz 6A

After reading the feedback to this question and where I went wrong I completely understand it now. It is important I think for me to remind myself that conventions all work and tie in together. Had I really taken the time to appreciate the sentence structure and what was going on, I could have easily gotten this question right the first time.


Completely misread the question at the time and it was a foolish mistake to make. I know better than that!

Quiz 6B

The first question I got wrong here, about the ellipsis was really just a silly mistake on my behalf. I really find that unless I stop and really slow down in reading quiz questions I end up making dumb mistakes like this. It’s a hard lesson to learn, and unfortunately for me it seems it hasn’t quite sunk in yet.

In the second case, I think I was just so ‘in-the-zone’ having recently written my news story and media release that I chose option d). Having read over the feedback and explanation, I appreciate the error that I made and understand where I went wrong.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, Routledge, London, England

Week Six – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

Leave a Reply

