Week Five – Technical Activity: Quiz Responses

I found that I had a lot of trouble with both quizzes this week.

Reporting speech turned out to be much more confusing than I thought it would be. On my first attempt, I scored 50% – which by my standards is a very poor attempt. I really made an effort to read over the questions I had wrong to learn from them. Finer grammar detailing and the use of ‘says vs. said’ is where I found myself struggling the most.

On my second attempt I scored 90% failing to get a question about closing quotation marks right! I am happy to report, that on my third attempt that I was able to hit that 100% mark! In the second quiz, I scored 50% on my first attempt. Failing to really absorb the lessons of the textbook, I made a bunch of silly errors across a variety of questions. Determined, I re-read the chapter, and on my second attempt scored 100%.

The grammatical elements of media writing is certainly more complex than I thought they would be. I have always felt comfortable with my grasp on writing, but it is becoming more apparent to me just how different media writing is.

I have a feeling that I will need to revisit many of my posts to ensure that my writing is reflective of these standards.

References

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, Routledge, London, England.

Week Five – Technical Activity: Quiz Responses

Leave a Reply

