Week Five – Inquiry Activity: Article Review

“Find an article that has impact on you because of the sources, speech and reporting, and discuss why it is an example of good journalism or media writing”

I really enjoyed this task. The article which I reviewed appeared on the Sydney Morning Herald online site, called “Government’s poor visibility over gay marriage debate”, written by Annabel Crabb.

I was initially drawn to the article because of its writer, Annabel Crabb, an Australian political journalist and commentator. Positioned as the ABC’s chief online political writer Crabb has a witty, sassy and critical writing style which I really respond to. I am not the most well informed political spectator, I rely heavily on the insight from well-respected journalists such as Crabb.

The article itself is cheekily witty in its review of recent debates in Australian parliament over the issue of gay marriage. As an advocate of gay marriage and marriage equality, I found the article informative and well written. Where there is a dry sense of humour through-out the article, it doesn’t overwhelm the direction and tone of the piece. This is in direct comparison to the article by Dave O’Neil which I reviewed in a previous week, where it was a lot of ‘fluff’ and not a lot of substance. The article is critical, yet balanced; and humorous while being factual.

The comments on the article are what you could expect from a highly debated issue. Haters and supporters viciously argue the merit of the article and sometimes, the merits of the issue itself. Overall, I felt like the article was really well written, easy to read and personable through writing that hinted at opinions without overwhelming the story.

References

Crabb, A 2015, Government’s poor visibility over gay marriage debate, Sydney Morning Herald, August 15, viewed August 17 2015, http://www.smh.com.au/comment/governments-poor-visibility-over-gay-marriage-debate-20150814-giz7uv.html

Week Five – Inquiry Activity: Article Review

3 thoughts on “Week Five – Inquiry Activity: Article Review

  1. Hi Heather,
    I enjoyed reading your review of this piece – I’m also a strong advocate of gay marriage and marriage equality and I found that a lot of pieces were opinion pieces and not so much news articles. Therefore I chose a different topic to do this task on. Very impressive blog entry however and I like how you compared it back to the article by Dave O’Neil. Look forward to reading more of your blog entries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rebecca Somerville says:

    Hi Heather
    As promised I am finally reviewing your blog! I really enjoy reading your blog. You have a high quality of writing that draws you an audience in very quickly. There isn’t too much I found I could suggest, but a couple of small suggestions are:

    I think your first sentence would benefit if it was turned into active speech. For example, I really enjoyed this task.

    In the second sentence of your first paragraph, I would remove the first ‘which’. I don’t think it needs to be there and means that the word isn’t repeated twice in one sentence.

    In the second sentence of the second paragraph, I think you may need a comma after writer and before Crabb. I’m not entirely sure on this though; I tend to overuse commas so I may be wrong.

    In the third sentence of that same paragraph I would remove a couple of words in order to tighten the sentence. For example ‘As I am not the most well informed political spectator, I rely heavily on the insight of well-respected journalists such as Crabb’.

    In the final sentence of your review, do you mean view of the article or view of the author? I wasn’t sure if you were talking about Crabb’s personal agenda. I had to read it once or twice to see what you meant. I wondered if you could say something like ‘Overall, I felt like the article was really well written and the author’s personal agenda did not compromise the tone of the article’. What do you think? I also wondered if it would be worth referencing the Dave O’Neil article, or at least hyperlinking to it. I know the one you talk about, but coming from an outsider’s view, it may be worth giving the reader easy access to this article as well.

    Overall I do enjoy your work Heather. I’m very behind on my own blog so please forgive the delay in providing you feedback. Talk soon!

    Like

    1. Hey Rebecca. Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. I always find it helps to have another set of eyes read over everything, and I’ve made amendments to those sections. I am really looking forward to reading over your blog soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

