Week Two – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

So, I didn’t go as well as I had hoped the first time around for this quiz. I got 6/10 for my first attempt and realised after the fact, that I had fallen back into bad habits. Having read the chapter the night before, I was perhaps overzealous in getting the quiz complete. Where I fell down was in questions relating to tense, commas, adjectives and sentence structure.

I feel a little bit embarrassed about my poor score on the first attempt – when reading back the parts that were relevant I wanted to cover my face with my hands. BUT! I am a firm believer that you learn more from your mistakes and I feel as though my writing will be improved having made those goofy errors.

The comma question is one that really stands out to me. Where I was taught in primary school that commas are essential in providing room to pause in sentences – this is not actually the case according to the text.

The good news is, that on my second attempt I got 100% – and my future commas, or at least I hope, will always be on point.

Reference

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists, Routledge, London, England.

Week Two – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

One thought on “Week Two – Technical Activity: Quiz Response

  1. Hi Heather,

    Yes! Your point about commas in primary school is spot on. I am now finding myself re-reading all of my written work and questioning where I have placed my commas and whether I should be removing them. I’m now having to decide whether it was an essential clause or simply adding further information.

    Heidi

    Like

Leave a Reply

